Senior Science Award 2020

Senior Science Award 2018 Senior Science Award 2018 Senior Science Award 2018 v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v v 

Applications are invited for the
 International Aspirin Foundation's Senior Science Award 2020

Biomedical researchers with a long-term interest in aspirin are invited to apply for the International Aspirin Foundation’s Senior Science Award 2020.

Designed to recognise and encourage research into different uses for aspirin, the biennial award is widely considered the most prestigious in its field.

Professor Carlo Patrono, MD, FESC, FRCP, Chair of the International Aspirin Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board will lead the judging process. He said:  “The Senior Science Award is a recognition of those scientists who have contributed innovative basic or clinical research elucidating mechanistic and/or therapeutic aspects of aspirin's multifaceted benefits".

“We welcome entries from individuals and groups with a record of outstanding biomedical research that has advanced the scientific knowledge of aspirin and its impact on human health, and look forward to celebrating the best in the field.”

Past winners of the Senior Science Award include Professor Peter Rothwell for his research evidencing a substantial role of aspirin in the reduction of cancer incidence, metastasis and mortality; Professors Nancy Cook, Michael Gaziano and Julie Buring for their pioneering long term randomised trials of aspirin in the prevention of vascular events and other pathology; and Professor Paola Patrignani for her life-long work in the field of arachidonic acid metabolism and the pharmacology of antiplatelet and anti-inflammatory drugs.

Supported by Bayer AG and offering a £20,000 endowment, this year’s award will be presented in the prestigious Ether Dome Amphitheatre at Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston on 28th September 2020.

The application deadline is 31 March 2020.  Applicants are asked to submit up to a 1000-word summary of their career and contribution to the use and science of aspirin, together with a 200 word lay summary. Winners will be notified by 30 April.

Senior Aspirin Award Criteria

  • Applicants are asked to submit up to a 1000 word summary of their career and contribution to the use and science of aspirin, together with a 200 word lay summary.
  • Applicants should have a demonstrable track record of valuable biomedical research (basic, clinical or translational), contributing to the scientific knowledge of aspirin.
  • Deadline for receipt of applications is 31st March 2020. All applications will be reviewed by the International Aspirin Foundation Scientific Advisory Board in reaching their decision.
  • In recognition of the chosen applicant(s)’ achievements, there will be a presentation ceremony to honour their work.
  • Applicants should be available to attend an Award Ceremony in Boston and be prepared to participate in media interest in the event.  In addition the lay summary will be used for publicity purposes.
  • A report will be produced on the awardee(s)’ body of work.



  • Award entries are invited from a potential candidate or his/her colleagues by their colleagues in scientific or academic institutions, together with a short (1,000 word) summary in the terms covered in the Award Criteria and a lay summary (200 words).

Submission method:

  • Applications should be sent via email.
  • Email:


  • Applications are to be received by 31st March 2020.  An email or letter will be sent confirming receipt and validity.

Review Process:

  • The Secretariat will provide the list of candidates for the Scientific Advisory Board at the March Board Meeting.  The Scientific Advisory Board may nominate additional candidates.
  • All applications will be reviewed and a decision made.  The Scientific Advisory Board will seek to achieve unanimity in selection. 

In all matters pertaining to the Science Award, the decision of the Chair of the SAB is final.

Award winner(s) will be notified by 30th April 2020.

Previous Winners

Bayer Senior Aspirin Award:

  • 1992 - Garret Fitzgerald
  • 1995 - Gustav Born
  • 1996 - Henry Barnett
  • 1997 - William Smith
  • 1998 - Carlo Patrono
  • 1999 - Charles Hennekens
  • 2000 - Sir Richard Peto, Colin Baigent, Rory Collins, and Peter Sleight
  • 2002 - Aaron Marcus
  • 2007 - Hans Christoph Diener

International Aspirin Foundation winners:

  • 2014    Peter Rothwell, Oxford UK
  • 2016    Julie Buring/Nancy Cook/Mike Gaziano, Boston USA
  • 2018    Paola Patrignani, Italy

Current Endowment

£20,000 per individual or group