Senior Science Award 2014

The Senior Science Award is given to recognise the achievement of a scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of knowledge relevant to the therapeutic and/or prophylactic use of acetylsalicylic acid - aspirin.

The Senior Science Award for 2014 is given to Prof Peter Rothwell MD, PhD, FRCP, FMedSci, Action Research Professor of Neurology, University of Oxford.

Peter Rothwell

Peter has provided compelling evidence for a substantial role of aspirin in the reduction of cancer incidence, metastasis and mortality. His findings triggered widespread interest among the scientific community and guideline writing committees in many countries are now considering how the results can help physicians to improve the health outcomes of their patients.

Peter’s research was instrumental in highlighting the effects of aspirin on cancer outcomes and has now triggered much research by other scientists to further the understanding of potential additional vascular and non-vascular benefits of aspirin therapy.

Peter qualified in medicine from the University of Edinburgh in 1987 and after completing his early postgraduate clinical training he moved to Oxford as Clinical Lecturer in Neurology in 1996. He was awarded an MRC Senior Clinical Fellowship in 1999 and set up the Stroke Prevention Research Unit in 2000, which now employs over 40 research staff. He was awarded a Professorship in 2004 and was elected a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2008, a National Institute of Health Research Senior Investigator in 2009 and a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator in 2011. He has published over 400 scientific papers and several books. His research interests include primary and secondary prevention of stroke, the effects of blood pressure on the brain, and the risks and benefits of aspirin.

Peter is clinically active, working as a Consultant Neurologist for the Oxford University Hospitals Trust.

Senior Scientific Award References


News story here.

Click here to view the post award interview Peter Rothwell.

Full report from the Award Ceremony can be found here.


Picture of Peter Rothwell receiving award from
Chair of Scientific Advisory Board Peter Elwood